The Ukulele

Last week on a rather dull trip to Argos to get clothes hangers, I purchased a ukulele on a whim.
That’s right – a whim.
As most of you who have befriended me on Facebook know, I’ve been a little in love with this video recently and I found myself really wanting to learn to play that song.
But – alas – I’m notoriously retarded when it comes to playing musical instruments.
I bought a guitar a few years ago, meaning to teach myself to play.
I spent 10mins trying to tune it and then gave up and never went back.
I have no patience and very poor hand-eye coordination.
So now it decorates my sitting-room.

But something has changed since then.
I made it past tuning the ukulele.
Testing my luck, I spent 15mins trying to learn a few chords, which went ok, but a hectic schedule meant I didn’t touch it again until late on Monday night….and something clicked.
Tuesday night I actually managed to play a song (not very efficiently or well, but shush!).
And on Wednesday night, I recorded it for your viewing pleasure!
Sure, I’m getting the hang of it, but I’m still pretty terrible, so you’ll get a laugh out of it.
Bum notes, forgetting chords/words, crazy faces when I make mistakes (which is a lot) and listening back, I think the uke may have actually been out of tune.
Oh and as many of you remember from a previous video, I’m not exactly vocally blessed (nasally five-year-old syndrome *sigh*), but I have to ‘sing’ it to keep time.

Also there’s a little message for all you lovely readers in there.

The things I do for you guys….
Let the humiliation begin!


(apologies for any volume issues….twas the best I could do!)

19 Comments on “The Ukulele”

  1. Sineadrural says:

    ha ha I can’t hear it causethe shed I live in is too noisy..!!!!!But I’m very excited about this!!

  2. That was so lovely! YOU my girl are as cute as a freakin’ BUTTON.

  3. Sarah Mason says:

    Awesomesocks 🙂 I think it sounds purdy! You’re doing waaay better than I am nearly 2 years into guitar lessons, yes formal lessons, I am not musically gifted in any way, shape or form…..

  4. Sarah Mason says:

    Awesomesocks 🙂 I think it sounds purdy! You’re doing waaay better than I am nearly 2 years into guitar lessons, yes formal lessons, I’m not musically gifted in any way, shape or form…..

  5. Susan Doyle says:

    Aww I forgot how lovely your voice is. Haven’t really heard you since the Girls Aloud days… *shudder*

  6. this is really good!! :p you have a good voice, you just need to practice it! Unlike mine,,,, it caused me to delete my utube channel…. oh dear!!

    let’s get the ukulele into the charts….!!!

    x

  7. Ahh, your voice is really soft and lovely.

  8. love love love it, you’re doing brilliantly for having only picked it up the other day… makes me want one – used to be able to play guitar a bit way back when!

    ps. you’re hair is looking great 🙂

  9. hila says:

    haha, that was adorable 🙂

  10. You did a great job! And your accent is really cute! Even though I knew you were Irish, I didn’t picture you with an irish accent, which is silly, really.

  11. ukulefty says:

    Good work on the song. 🙂 The ukulele is much easier and oh so much more fun to learn than the guitar!

    Actually if you haven’t heard it yet, Eddie Vedder (of Pearl Jam fame) has a pretty cool duet of Tonight You Belong To Me on his latest album, Ukulele Songs.

    K.

  12. Um, what can’t you do? I enjoyed your rendition very very much.

  13. Cool video! I have a ukelele that I got in Waltons ages ago, I feel guilty because I don’t play it. It’s impossible to tune 😦 And you don’t sound like a nasally five-year-old!

  14. BeckyDazzler says:

    Aw that was lovely!! *claps enthusiastically* xx

  15. whisty says:

    Just beautiful! You have such a sweet voice! More please! XX


Leave a Reply

