The Past is Sitting in the Living Room

Last week, I was sitting on the couch drinking tea with my friend David, when I heard a key turn in the front door.
“Oh yay, you’ll get to meet The Roomie,” I told him.

In she walked with a smile and dropped her shopping on the table.
“The Roomie, this is David,” I said.
He held his hand out, with a “Nice to meet you” and she shook it, saying “Hi” with an odd expression on her face.

“I know you,” she said.
David looked panicked.
“Do you?” I asked.
“Yeah,” she said. “We met on a night out, I think.”
David tried to compose himself.
“Oh right,” he said.
I looked from one to the other, taking in the awkward atmosphere.
“Does anyone want tea?” asked The Roomie walking out to the kitchen.

“Omg,” I said, hitting him as soon as she left. “Did you sleep with her!?”
“….no,” he said, looking doubtful.

When she came back into the room, I just couldn’t let it go.
“So how do you know him?” I asked. “Did you meet through mutual friends or something?”
“No, just randomly on a night out,” she said. “We just started talking to him and his friend. And then they took us to this place that served wine all night.”
“Oh I remember now,” said David, starting to look a little less stressed. “Em, and there was your friend…Julie?”
The Roomie gave him a level look. “Zoe.”
“Yeah, Zoe,” he said, looking uncomfortable again.

When The Roomie left to get ready to go out, I turned to David.
“So you didn’t sleep with my room-mate?”
“No,” he said looking relieved.
“And her friend?”
He looked sheepish.
“That is hilarious,” I said.

It’s times like this that I worry that Dublin is a leeeeeeettle too small….

8 Comments on “The Past is Sitting in the Living Room”

  1. hahaha! what a classic story! That happens to most people, I think….!! Great post again CC! x

  2. Kathryn says:

    This is hilarious! How awkward for your friend!

    I looove the background on your blog! It’s so cool 🙂

    Kathryn Xx

  3. Magatha May says:

    brilliant… reminds me a little of the very first episode of the Irish version of ‘Take Me Out’

  4. I only love this story!!! If you think Dublin is small, you should try waterford. Practically village like! ha. :)SarahD

  5. kellebelle says:

    HAHAHA!!! That’s brilliant!!!

  6. Skinni Peach says:

    baaaahaaaa! how embarrassing! small world tho aint it!

  7. Oh, how awkward for him! Dublin might be small, but Limerick is so much worse!

  8. Meream says:

    Oh, oh, how embarrassing for David. 😀


Leave a Reply

