Conversations with The Boy

*On the 49 Bus heading into town with The Boy*
Me: *looking at two little blonde girls…not in a creepy way* Wouldn’t it be weird if we had blonde kids?
The Boy: Not really. I was blonde when I was a kid.
Me: Yeah but you’ve dark hair now and I have black hair, so I think it would be really weird. I mean, if the nurse handed me a blonde baby, I’d be like, Who did I have an affair with?
The Boy: Ha!
Me: I just think that genetically it would be weird. My family are all black or dark haired ppl, most of your family are brunettes. Even if you had a recessive fair-haired gene, I don’t think I’d have one so black kicks ass!
The Boy: Yeah I suppose.
Me: They’d probably have your dark eyes too. I’m pretty sure brown is a dominant eye colour.
The Boy: *looks bemused*
Me: Leaving Cert Biology finally came in handy!
The Boy: Oh right.
Me: Hopefully they’d have your straight hair and not my fuzz!
The Boy: Well as long as they had your brains, I’d be happy.
Me: HA! Yeah right, you just pretty kids. Them having your looks would make you happy.
The Boy: *grins* Yeah.
Me: My brains and your looks -they’d be SUPER kids!
The Boy: Absolutely! I’d be so proud!
Me: ….you know we’re probably going to have really stupid hideous-looking tiny blonde children with blue eyes that keep running into walls, right?
The Boy: Ha, yeah.
Me: ….that’d be disappointing. All that being pregnant work for hideous-looking, stupid kids.
The Boy: God, yeah.
Me: What if we have hideous-looking kids!?
The Boy: Don’t worry, we can have a practice kid and if it turns out like that, we won’t have anymore.
Me: We can just adopt pretty babies?
The Boy: Yes we can *hugs Me*

20 Comments on “Conversations with The Boy”

  1. he’s too cute..and so are you!

  2. Carissa says:

    hahaha we can have a practice kid… lol that’s sooo funny.
    My hubby and I are always talking about which traits our kids will have based on recessive and dominant genes lol

  3. Metro Chica says:

    Aaaaaaaaahhhhhhh πŸ™‚

  4. Jules says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!!

    your posts with the boy are so HILARIOUS!!!!! I especially love it when you say that you want a practice kid – so funny!

    and trust me, your kids WILL be gorgeous – you will instantly fall in love with them when you first clap your eyes on them! (at least that what happens with most people!) x

  5. Aisling says:

    Awwww, how sweet.

    When he said have a practice kid, I thought he was gonna say “and sure if we don’t like it, we can give it away…” Luckily he didn’t. πŸ™‚

    you’ll only see your own children as gorgeous, and you wont care what anyone else thinks or says. x

  6. Eve says:

    HAHAHHA. A practice kid! The solution to all of life’s problems! hahahha

  7. White Rabbit says:

    Ahahahaha. Splendid post there. (I’m trying to bring back ‘Splendid’). A practice kid is an inspired idea.

  8. Siobhan says:

    Brilliant! These are all the thoughts going through my head at the moment! I keep thinking the kid is going to either get the worst aspects of both of us or a weird mix of the two! Half my family are Native American and are very, very dark skinned and he has a lot of ginger in his family. Not sure how either of us would react to the mix of a red headed ‘brown’ baby! πŸ™‚

  9. Conor says:

    Makes me glad I have a younger sister. Obviously I was a good practice kid πŸ˜€

  10. Karin says:

    Aww, poor practice kid!

    xx

  11. Emma says:

    This story is too cute! πŸ™‚

  12. jojopant says:

    Awww… cute.
    and so lovely.
    u sure are lucky!

    πŸ™‚

  13. terra says:

    Bahahaha – love it! I really wish I could have a practice kid, just for a bit, to see if I could handle it.


Leave a Reply

