The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 7

I’m afraid this is the last Diary Entry, folks. In this installment, we see pre-teen Hermia battle with the traumas of emerging hormones and impending teenagedom. She also gives an insightful analysis of the Millenium.

Thursday 18th October 1999

Dear Diary,
So I think David and Clare are dating.
I saw them about 2 weeks ago. I got off the school bus at my stop and Clare got off as well even though it wasn’t her stop because she had seen David. So he was walking along where I was and I said Hi and Clare said she was going home and made to walk in the same direction as him, so I headed off. But as I turned around, I saw the two of them moving close together like they were in love.
I just want him to love me. I want him to put his arms around my waist, pull me close, tilt my chin up and kiss me. Then I’d be happy.
But it’s never going to happen.
So I’ll go,
Hermia.

Sunday 21st November

Dear Diary,
Penny got her period on Friday the 12th. I can’t help feeling a bit down. She’s already wearing a bra and I’m still in a vest. It’s really embarrassing in school when we’re changing for PE but I hide it, because if the girls ever found out I’d never live it down. I’m going to try and get one but I’ve nothing to put in it.
Oh yeah, I finished my book Behind You. It ended at 103 pages. I’m re-writing it now.
Alison is my best friend in school now.
Penny is still my best ever friend.
Gotta go,
Hermia

Saturday 1st January 2000

Can You Believe It Diary?
Today is the first day of the Millenium! At 12 o’clock we ran out onto the road. There were loads of fireworks and bright colours brightening up the dark, black sky and there were green firework fountains and exploding rockets everywhere! And people ran up and down the road wishing everyone a Happy New Millenium and drinking. It was great!
Christmas was good too. I got Penny a Steps tape and she got me a Celine Dion tape.
I don’t like David anymore. Well, it’s a New Year’s resolution. It’s getting ridiculous. I’m daydreaming about him and fantasising about him asking me out. It’s so stupid. It can’t be healthy. So that’s that, I guess.
My Celine Dion tape rocks. I’m listening to it right now.
Going now,
Hermia

And that’s all, Folks!


12 Comments on “The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 7”

  1. kellebelle says:

    “I saw the two of them moving close together like they were in love” – ha!
    Also Behind You – did you write a book?!
    x

    • Lol well by the standards of a 12-year-old, yes I did write a book! It was a horror book, like those Point Horror books that were around when we were kids! Obviously it never got any further than me reading it, but hell, I was still proud!lol!

  2. Jules says:

    oh wow – great post!! It totally brings me back to my school days (and yes, steps is embarrassingly my ROTW tomorrow)!

    I totally know about your book – I remember writing my first autobiography and it being crap but everyone read it and asked me if they’d be mentioned in it… well, the 2nd draft indicates that I knew about their dirty games… but we still laugh about the old days now!
    xx

  3. Good to know you finished your book- mine got lost somewhere in the middle! Never could find the determination to see it through to the end! And I remember the Celine Dion/tapes era, I wore my copy out by listening to “My Heart Will Go On” over and over again!

  4. rachel says:

    fascinating fascinating. oh i love this so much.

    haaay.

  5. haha awww…the vest days, that kind of broke my heart a bit remembering those and that self consciousness!

    but i couldn’t stay broken hearted for long..moving closer together like they were in love is pure gold!

  6. Kitty Cat says:

    “My Celine Dion tape rocks.” Hermia. SCARLEH for you. 🙂

  7. Eve says:

    How sad that it has come to an end! Well it was wonderful while it lasted!
    Even at that age you were a writer! I’m curious about this 103 page book! What was it about?

  8. Jaime says:

    These are so great- must be fun for you to look back 🙂

  9. terra says:

    “My Celine Dion tape rocks.”

    I probably listened to the Titanic theme a million times after I got that soundtrack. Over and over and over. Celine used to be so cool.


Leave a Reply

