The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 1

Welcome to the life and times of 12-year-old Hermia –the weird and incredibly dramatic pre-teen who seems to attract a ridiculous amount of trouble and is as fickle as Shakespeare’s Romeo.
The only diary entries I could find are from Summer 1999 (and a then few random ones during the months afterwards) -I wasn’t a very dedicated diary-writer. I’ll be featuring them all over the next couple of weeks.
Please don’t judge me too much….

Monday 5th July 1999

Dear Diary,
I’ve decided to start writing a diary again. I got my subjects back from St. Pauls and I got the one’s I asked for: science, home economics, french and business studies. Everyone has to do english, irish, maths, history, geography, cspe and religion, but I don’t mind, except for irish which I hate.
Goodbye,
Hermia

Tuesday 6th July 1999

Dear Diary,
I saw a film thatย  had Valentine’s Day in it today. It reminded me of David. Wouldn’t I like to play tonsil hockey with him! Well…not really, cos I think French Kissing is gross. I’d just like to snog him. I have got to find out if he likes me. He seems to act uncomfortably around me as if he’s embarrassed about something.
Colette is driving me nuts. She’s telling Penny all sorts of things about me. She’s also telling Penny that Eoghan (ewh gross) from our old class fancies her and Penny. Yeah right. Eoghan can’t stand her. I don’t think he minds Jenny tho. She (Colette) is such an airhead, bimbo, tart and FOOL. She is my best friend but she’s so empty sometimes.
Keepin’ my temper,
Hermia

Wednesday 7th July 1999

Hiya Diary,
We were with the Spanish Students today. They stay with families every summer and this year we were old enough to hang out with them. There is this one guy whose name is Franchisco (Chisco for short). He’s cute. I think he’s nice, but I’m not as mad about him as Ciara, Becs and Sharon. He has a twin brother called Wan. He is way ugly. His head is long and skinny and he has puffy, squashed eyes.
All for now Diary,
Hermia


13 Comments on “The Diary of a Pre-Teen -Part 1”

  1. emilycross says:

    Bless! I hated Irish too, and if you were to luck at my 12year old diaries they would be almost identical lol.

    I remember watching a programme about famous diaries (at 4am after night out so my memory might be slighly wrong), this episode was about virgina wolfe – and they readed excerpts – must remember to burn mine if I’m ever famous lol. . .

  2. White Rabbit says:

    Squashed AND puffy eyes. That Wan sounds like a looker *winks at Wan*

    I’m assuming he was Juan though? Wan…

    Wan and Han. My twins are named!

  3. Lady Peach says:

    ha ha I love it!!
    I adore reading posts like these….can’t wait for more to come ๐Ÿ™‚
    Lady Peach
    xXx

  4. kellebelle says:

    Haha! That’s gas – love the Spanish Student part!
    I’m still trying to find all my old diaries to post – have tonnes hidden somewhere in the house!
    x

  5. Sara says:

    I should do that too!!
    Haha it’s reinforcing the thought that I don’t miss who I used to be at that age!

  6. skinni peach says:

    i love this!! funny stuff, looking forward to reading more!! .x.

  7. great to have you back, i was missing my hermia fix!!
    i love how you explain things to your diary, just incase someone in the future finds it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hilarious!! Love the bit where you say no to french kissing, but yes to snogging. Ah, to be 12 again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I must root out my old diaries too – I wasnt much of a diary keeper, I was far too easily distracted as a kid to keep up to date. But I’d imagine they’d be….interesting.xx

  9. Kar says:

    Aw I wish I still had all my old diaries, I threw them out though for fear of them falling into the wrong hands … ahem.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Definitely looking forward to the next one. I can relive my embarrassing childhood vicariously through you!

    xx

  10. ahhhaha take a look at yer wan, poor wan! that made me giggle out loud! love it!

  11. terra says:

    I LOVE this. Teen diaries are hilarious. And poor Wan!

  12. Eve says:

    This is wonderful! It’s very much how my pre teen diary entries would go. An odd mix of school boys and annoying friends!
    ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

