Let me tell about the time I….was psychotically obsessed with a boy.

So there was this guy, who I’ll refer to as P.

I met him during this college programme I attended the week before Orientation Week.

It was a summer school of sorts, where a small number of incoming First Years (I’m special, y’all!) were given the opportunity to stay on campus for a week and meet other new students and experience all the college had to offer.

I was actually one of the best weeks of my life!
And was my first real taste of freedom.

The programme had a number of group leaders who were current students at the college, and one of my group leaders was P.

He was very pretty and quiet and nice and had very amazing eyes which he just locked onto yours when he was talking to you.

We got on really well and at the end of the week, we exchanged phone numbers.
His suggestion, not mine!

I remember spending HOURS thinking about when I should text him and what I should text him, and eventually I sent him an innocent text asking him to recommend a few societies to join.

And so some casual texting followed.
But this wasn’t enough for me.
No, no.

And so began the Stalkfest.

Hormones completely took over and while I am normally very level-headed about this kind of thing, I decided I was in love with him and that I had no other choice but to marry him and have his babies.

An so I hung around the Humanities building A LOT (we were both doing humanities degrees).

I checked his course timetable online (oh God, I know!) and then casually made sure I was in the area he was having class in, which was followed by a delightful conversation,consisting of “Hiiiiiiiii” and maybe a “How are you?”.

Cmon, I was so far gone at this stage my nerves couldn’t deal with an ACTUAL conversation with him.

I knew which computer room he used, and poor Lyndsay, being the wonderful friend she is, consented to hanging out in this particular computer lab which also happened to be the WORST computer lab in the whole college.

And then, purely by accident, I discovered where he worked in town, and used to frequent this shop.

It actually wasn’t TOO suspicious as it was the only H&M (oh God I hope he NEVER finds this blog) we had in town at that time.

And then there was the time I skipped a HUGE Drama Soc after-show party to go to a less-than-fine Christmas Party that he said he’d be going to.

He didn’t show.

I still hate that I missed that party.

But then he got himself a girlfriend his own age (there were 3 or 4 years between us) and possibly also copped that I was the one ringing his phone on a private number at 3am and breathing heavily down the receiver at him, and so he stopped talking to me.

And I stopped stalking him.

And actually forgot all about him until I saw him the next year looking a little greasy and not at all pretty anymore, to which I mentally responded “ha ha ha HA…reject ME will ye!?”

Because I’m so mature.

Thankfully this was the last time I was ever so ridiculous, and I became SO much cooler with the male kind from there on….eh, sorta.

But it was definitely the last and the worst Stalkfest I ever conducted.

I kinda miss those crazy days.

Maybe I’ll try stalking The Boy for a while cos hiding in bushes is ALWAYS fun….

18 Comments on “Let me tell about the time I….was psychotically obsessed with a boy.”

  1. Lyndsay says:

    Every Monday morning after Law! Good times…

  2. Bianca says:

    This gave me a good laugh and now that I’ve read it I’m going to end my evenings internetting on a high note. Thank you for another wonderful post πŸ™‚

  3. emma says:

    hahaha! made me chuckle lovely!
    yes, stalk the boy! Would be hilarious! Let us know his reaction when he finds you crouching behind a bush!
    xxxx
    ps congrats on the award nominations!!

  4. Hah! Well it -is- an important formative experience to pathologically stalk a boy who barely knows you exist… I mean, everyone’s done it at least once, right? Riiight?? XD

  5. Sherin says:

    This was so much fun to read! I’ve nearly been in this situation, lol.

  6. dustjacket attic says:

    Oh this made me laugh….I loved the photo’s too, especially the first.
    xxx

  7. westwood says:

    Okay, that is GOLD. Goodness knows we’ve all been there…

  8. Ruth Crean says:

    OH GOD, you just brought back all my scary stalker memories…oh so mortifying.
    -The awkward drinking in the cafe he worked in
    -‘the delightful conversation of ‘hiiiii’…that made me laugh!
    At least the teenage ones are excusable the one from college makes me cringe with embarrassment

  9. marygrace says:

    I like this confession.

  10. lol! Seriously?
    I think I have stalked to many boys to mention!

  11. I liked this post, it made me laugh :). And it was very cute :).
    x.

  12. White Rabbit says:

    We all stalk! Don’t worry about it!

    In FACT I’m stalking you now…

    *creepy stare* 0_0

    lol I’m not really

  13. Conor says:

    Brilliant! We all do crazy stuff when we’re young and hormonal. Never thought to follow timetables though. You should give classes on stalking πŸ™‚

  14. Jess says:

    Oh my gosh! This is like reading about myself, when I crush on someone I get very embarrassing. The stalking I do in a very big way! But you know I guess we all do it on some level its just hard to be honest about it.

  15. White Rabbit says:

    I think we have all been there once..or twice πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for sharing your experience, it was hilarious! I’ve done so many thinks I’d rather forget, but the best way is to have a luagh at them!

  16. […] for some reason….you can still enough to laugh at it though!! The song was inspired by THIS old post of […]

  17. lil-bee says:

    OMG I did that!!! Well the online timetable thing .. err, I probably shouldn’t be screaming out loud about it like a proud stalker .. except I thought it was very clever so I am sorta proud πŸ˜€

    But I just found out how to find other people’s online timetables and helped my friends out with their stalk interests πŸ˜› so its all good? πŸ˜€

  18. […] but wasn’t old enough to be a sufficient stalking tool! And so I’d daydream and try to figure out class schedules so I could coincedentally be in the same place at the same time and speculate among friends if I saw him talking to another […]


Leave a Reply

